top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMia S

Cloudy With a Chance of Ice Cream

Today's Holidays: National Eat Ice Cream for Breakfast Day, Groundhog Day, Heavenly Hash Day, Marmot Day, Hedgehog Day, Crepe Day, World Tutu Day, Take Your Child to the Library Day, Lace Day, Ice Cream for Breakfast Day

Website of the Day: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xAkmG6uqBd4

Fact of the Day: The groundhog didn't see his shadow today, so spring is near!


 

Remember that scene in Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs- the one in which all the people wake up and see that it has snowed ice cream?  Huge, round scoops of ice cream sit on the top of houses. Three, thick strips of chocolate, vanilla, and strawberry ice cream cover the street, and children lay face down in the ice cream, eating and enjoying its grandness and taste.  Parents sled with their children down the mounds, and everybody sets aside their work and responsibilities to engage in the rareness of this moment. Sure, I’ve never seen a hot pink or yellow colored ice cream flavor before, and of course the very idea of ice cream falling from the sky is quite fictional, but no matter how old I am, whenever I watch that scene I feel such a sense of life, joy, and a craving to be a part of it, should it ever exist.


I’ve been thinking about the ice cream scene a lot today, as it is National Eat Ice Cream for Breakfast Day.  I imagined waking up today to frost on the windows, and then just as the child did in Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, I’d wipe the window to gradually see what looked like snow and then blurs of colors and then fully defined scoops of ice cream on the roof across the street.  I ended up settling for making my own ice cream sundae in my kitchen.


Me and My Ice Cream Sundae Ingredients

Though I didn’t get my dream of ice cream outside, I still had fun making my sundae with vanilla ice cream, chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, white chocolate chips, rainbow sprinkles, whipped cream, and chocolate syrup!  There is something so unconventionally beautiful in eating dessert for breakfast: so much so that even at nineteen years old, when technically I could eat ice cream for breakfast every day if I wanted, I still feel a rush of excitement and thrill.  I’ve always loved these unconventional times, like breakfast for dinner or, from the ages of maybe two to five, I wore a pink helmet. This may seem normal, but I would wear the helmet outside of riding my tricycle: around the house, to the hospital when my brother was born, and even around the neighborhood.  I promise, I wasn’t that weird of a child; I just really loved my helmet.


Sometimes we need to break free of the conventional standards to tap into our inner selves and reconnect with that feeling of excitement and energy that we all should have in our lives from time to time.  National Eat Ice Cream for Breakfast Day does just that; It provides us with an opportunity to do something out of the ordinary, perhaps something that is “forbidden” or was forbidden as a child. We don’t need to go skydiving or break the law or ride a roller coaster to feel that thrill.  Sometimes all we need is to sit down at ten am with a big bowl of chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream, perhaps with some whipped cream and chocolate syrup, and indulge in life’s simple pleasures- and maybe, just maybe, one day I’ll look outside my window to see the immense scoops of ice cream covering the outside.  A girl can dream, right?


Happy National Eat Ice Cream for Breakfast Day!  How did you celebrate? Comment below, or send in a picture to my new instagram page (@officialoneholiday)! #celebrate #icecream #behappy         

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page